top of page
  • Rebecca Yadao

Southern Comfort- Road trip Diaries

Updated: Jan 22, 2019


Happy Monday!

I am currently laying in bed at 7am already premeditating a nap and half assidly watching the new Tomb Raider (Because let’s be real, nobody will ever top Angelina Jolie's Lara Croft.) and thinking back to Friday when I was melting outside in front of my home waiting for my sweet babe to come bring me my spare car keys, because the originals were smirking at me from my ignition behind locked doors.



While I was out there wasting away. I thought of a question and I am genuinely interested in your answer.

Do you ever do things just for the pure joy of them? Things that automatically bring a bright smile to your face or a warm and cozy feeling into your heart? If yes, great! If no, then I have a challenge for you. (If you read my last 13 Things, then this challenge will sound familiar.)

The challenge will be to come up with seven things that bring you complete and utter happiness and to put those happy things to the test. choose to do at least one of those things a day for an entire week. When those seven days are up. come back and tell me a few of things on your list and how you felt by the end of your week. I'd love to read your comments. 😊




Last week my friend Alana and I went on a week-long road trip to North Carolina all the way from sunny Las Vegas, NV. While we were on the road we unfortunately lacked the necessary tools and resources to share our entire trip on the world-wide web like WiFi and welp... SANITY! 😂 Now saying that the trip was ridiculously long is a HUUGGEE understatement, but saying that it was boring would be a complete lie. In between the 1,001 questions and lip singing, I'd say we occupied ourselves pretty well. Thankfully we have similar taste in music and junk food!




Our first few days were easy pease. With minimal stops and of course views to die for! (Even if they were only from a passenger's seat.) The days that followed were somewhat a little tougher. Lots of static radios and wierd questions being force by desperation to fill the void. 😂 Honestly though, it could have been a lot worse. Our first night we stay in Albuquerque, New Mexico which had one of the most incredible sunsets I have ever seen! It was amazing to see the planes of land go from sand to trees that continuously kept getting taller the further south we went. Our second night we were lucky enough to stay at a hotel with a gorgeous pond view in Shawnee, Oklahoma. (The only down fall was that they had chigger bugs and those suckers are nasty! I left Oklahoma with my ankles covered in bites!) For our third and last stop before we hit North Carolina we stayed in Alabama! Where we ate at the cutest little fast food restaurant called Zaxby's. (which is kind of like a Raising Cane's, but WAY better.)  


By the time we finally made it to NC we were red eyed and a little hazy. (After this trip I had so much respect for people who drive cross-country for a living.) So we decided to clean up and go check out the local watering holes. It was nice to dance off the last four days of sitting and to meet new people! It's incredible how easy it is to make friends in new places. Especially drunk ones in the ladies restroom. (Compliments are handed out like flyers at a church!) I really wish that women were as nice sober as they are drunk. Maybe one day huh?

The next day was a lot of unloading and unpacking with mini adventures here and there. Alana moved to a home only a few minutes from the beach so I snuck away and found myself on a pier just embracing the life around me. The sun dancing on the blue water, the waves crashing back and forth, and the local fishermen whistling in sync with the wind. If moments like that could last forever I would be the happiest camper. 




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page