top of page
  • Rebecca Yadao

Lake Elsinore, CA Poppies


Happy Tuesday!!


As of now I am laying in bed, sipping hot lemon ginger tea, (because for some reason I can't shake the shivers.) and binge watching Bones. (Arguably the best show to date.) While day dreaming about the crazy, wonderful, and absolutely drop dead gorgeous California weekend experiences I have had the last few weeks!


Which brings me to March 17th, the weekend in which Nathaniel and I had made a quick decision to hop into his car and head down to the vibrant poppy fields we had heard so much about! (Although I do have to warn you that the state of California is denying further access to the poppy fields due to the smashing and picking of the flowers.)


Long car rides always make me so incredibly anxious, so I was extremely grateful to have such a beautiful distraction for about an hour before we even hit Lake Elsinore!


About ten minutes before we neared the Lake, a giant crowd of vehicles gathered at an exit marked $5 parking for poppies. (Catchy I know.) After sitting in traffic for a good minute, Nathaniel and I talked it over and decided to take our chances by heading into town in search for a lucky break. (And by God, we found one!) A few miles into town we had begun to pass a dozen or so suburban houses, one local convenient store, and small lot of cars before we finally found ourselves at the foot of a single hill covered in sun like poppies. With probably less than 10 people at the top of it!! (Talk about a score!)


As we climbed out of our vehicle, Nathaniel sighed with regret while the warmth of the sun kissed our skin. (Because of course Nathaniel ignored my temperature warnings and had decided to bring all but summer attire.) With a long sleeve shirt on his back, a pair of stone washed jeans hanging loosely from our extended car journey, and three jackets packed tightly in the back seat. He was all but excited to leave his air conditioned vehicle to track around a poppy covered field with me. (Yet he did it anyways and for that I love him!) Which also makes sense as to why he had no desire to take pictures with me as I twirled, leapt, and avoided spiders at all cost!


After about an hour and a half of flouncing and slightly melting. We had agreed to grab some lunch at this incredible local barbecue restaurant. (That sadly for the life of me I cannot place my finger on.) enjoying brisket, BBQ pork, and of course a LARGE glass of lemonade. Afterwards we hopped back into his car and headed south where our sweet California adventures came to end as we basked in the Laguna beach sun and watched as it slowly faded into the distance creating a sherbet like hue.

Lake Elsinore, CA Poppy fields









My handsome photographer

Being camera shy

Laguna Beach, CA








37 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


lchurc9539
Apr 02, 2019

Amazing account with beautiful pictures!

Like

Nathaniel Hernandez
Apr 02, 2019

The pictures came out amazing! 😍

Like
bottom of page