top of page
  • Rebecca Yadao

New York City




Hey, I hope that everyone is having an amazing week so far!


I had gotten extremely sick yesterday with the flu and ended up spending my time on the couch clicking through mine and Nathaniel's pictures from New York. Reminiscing of our trip and how amazing it felt to just go out and see new things without having to make plans or create a schedule. (I'm not really a planner anyways, but usually Nathaniel has little panic attacks if things don't go as scheduled.) Thankfully he let loose a little bit and we ended up going wherever the New York City wind took us! (Which is quite brisk if I might add.) Lol


So, it has officially been over a week since we have been back from New York and we are already itching for another trip! (I signed up for Scott's Cheap Flights. Fingers crossed it will give us ideas on where we should travel to next without completely breaking the bank!) The funny thing about that, is we literally just finished unpacking and washing all of our clothes. Which took forever. Those layers really added up! (It's for sure something you NEED if you ever decide to visit NYC in the winter!) I remember people warning me about the chilly weather before we even went on this trip and I just kind of nodded my head like yeah… yeah… whatever haha, but NO. Seriously! I had at least 4 shirts, 3 pairs of pants, and two jackets on at all times! Which made my cute "NYC fashion" completely obsolete! (Upside down emoji face)


I do want to point out that this was mine and Nathaniel's very first plane trip together. Which completely ruined plane trips by myself. I would honestly take the longest, bumpiest, and worst flight ever as long as I get to take it with him! He was seriously so incredibly sweet the entire time. (I just want to mention that I am a very stubborn person who literally despises help from everyone and anyone. It has seriously taken me the complete four years of being together to finally let him or anybody else do things for me. ) For instance, during the flight he continued to go out of his way the entire time to make me feel comfortable. Giving me the window seat, (I mean... come on, that's love!) and at one point took his sweater off, (in the subzero plane when he had not quite gotten over being sick yet.) roller it up, and placed it under my neck while I was sleeping so that I wouldn't wake up with a giant neck cramp! The sad part is, that he knows that if I was awake, I one hundred percent would not have let him given me his sweater. Taking this trip with him undoubtedly gave me a whole new appreciation for the incredible person that he is.


Above I have shared a few of my favorite photos that brought back the best memories from our trip. (Yes, I realize most of the pictures are of food.) Lol. Nathaniel and I are huge foodies and most of the places we decided to visit were recommended by either a friend or a lift driver. New York Lift drivers are very informational! Who knew? Plus, since we were nice to them (Which people should be anyways.) and chose to take an interest in somebody other than ourselves. We could not believe how grateful they were and willing to share information about the city. Information that we wouldn’t have been able to find on a NYC tourist map.) For instance, our last night in NY a lift driver recommended we go to a restaurant in china Town. The restaurant ended up having amazing authentic food with such an incredibly peaceful atmosphere. It was a great end to a magical week.


Now, I promise we did not rely only on Lift Drivers to get around the entire time! Lol. We did end up finding a few things on our own. (If you are anything like us and not at all familiar with the subway system. It took us forever to get anywhere! Words from the semi wise. Purchase the all access subway and bus pass! It is worth the $60 and saved us in so many ways, but only if you're going to stay for more than a few days!) We actually ended up wandering around town and finding THE MET (Metropolitan Museum of Art), which had an astonishingly long line for a Monday. I also quickly realized that the shoes I was wearing and had originally thought were waterproof were definitely not... I’m also guilty of being a puddle splasher and it was pouring down rain that day. (I was literally slushing around in soaking socks for the rest of the day. Fun Times...) But, it was without a doubt worth the wait and extremely beautiful from the inside out! We also ended up finding this amazing pizza place the same night. The slices were genuinely the size of our heads and the cheese was practically sliding off from being so heavy (also greasy), but again. SO WORTH IT! A few of the other places that we happened to find were Serendipity (We have one of these in Las Vegas, but I always enjoy seeing how different thing are in another city.), the LOL Comedy Club in Time Square (They were selling these tickets for $30 each in front of the club, but I ended up finding them on Groupon for only $10!), and Black Tap. (Which was our ultimate FAVORITE eatery from our entire trip!) Their burgers were so juicy and practically melted in our mouths and their shakes were beyond amazing. I have never eaten any dessert like this. (And trust me, my sweet tooth gets around.) I decided to go with a chocolate shake that had chocolate icing on the rim, and was dipped in mini chocolate chips topped with a giant brownie still warm from the pan! Oh my gosh, I’m getting hungry just thinking about it! Haha


Though the food that week was spectacular and the views were jaw droppingly beautiful. The most memorable day and personally my very favorite part of this entire trip, was the day we took a helicopter tour of the city. Just being able to see Nathaniel’s face light up while we took our tour was well worth the $$$. He had this childlike wonder in his eyes that always makes me excited and is truly a treasure. It is my all-time favorite thing in this entire world! He undeniably made this trip something to remember and I cannot wait to experience all of the wonders in life with him by my side.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page