top of page
  • Rebecca Yadao

Happy New Mirror




A reflection of not who I was, but who I have become. My steps to personal success.


Happy New Years Eve everyone!


Now I did not come on here today to give you a play by play of my year. I didn't come on here to boast, complain, or even overshare like a great-aunt who's had one too many wines at Christmas dinner. Though I did in fact, come on here to share a few steps I had taken in 2019 that will most definitely be following me into 2020 and probably for the rest of my life. Ones that helped me achieve some of my large and in charge goals and of course the little ones by default.


As much as I hope all of these steps will help you get all that you desire for the new year coming up. I will in fact state that you definitely get what you put into it. Not more, not less.


1. Don't wait for a special occasion to begin a goal!

As in...

- Do not wait for a Monday to start a diet.

- Do not wait for the new year to make a resolution.

- Do not wait for a Friday to treat "yo-self!".

- Do not wait for Christmas to pass before you begin saving money.

"If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done."

(Ecclesiastes 11:4)


2. "Small changes create lasting results" - Jay Shetty (He has a podcast. Definitely Recommend it!)


A few years ago I picked up the book Compound Effect By: Darren Hardy. One that still to this day, I live by and frequently reread as well as reference anytime I am really trying to make a lasting and effective life style change. aka it assists in how one would start small and work their way to achieving the big. Which is of course the goal, right?


3. Mindset is everything.

As in...

- What do you think of when you wake up?

- What do you thank God for when you're about to go to sleep?

- What books are you reading? Are they for knowledge or pleasure?

- What quotes are plastered in your home, on your phone screen, or in your car?


Youtube, Audible, and podcasts have become some of my absolute saving graces in 2019. If, I don't wakeup to a Ted talk or a 10-minute motivational video then I know I won't push as hard at the gym that day. Sometimes sitting still to read for even 15 minutes is not something I can personally achieve. Having a plethora of books on my Audible already downloaded and ready to listen to is the best thing I can do to gain even the slightest bit of knowledge I didn't posses before I had begun. Now this may seem a little sad, but if I'm ever feeling lonely and don't really want to converse with people. (It's a mood really.) I put on a podcast.


4. "Birds of a feather..." - William Turner


If, you finished the saying then you already know. This quote comes out of my mouth more often than not. It's one I firmly believe and will quite possibly stick by for the rest of my life.

So, take some time to ask yourself, "What type of people do I spend time with? Are they positive or negative? Have they put me down or uplift me? Can I trust them and are they honest? Do they want to see me fail or succeed?" The list can honestly go on. The main idea is to pay more attention to the people you allow into your life and become more aware of their influences on you. Positive or negative.


5. Love yourself!


Anytime any of these become difficult to stand by or motivation begins to slip through your fingers like hot sand. I want you to take a moment to remember why you had begun in the first place.


As in...

Why did I begin this goal?

-Because I love myself enough to make lasting changes and not instant ones.

-Because I love myself enough to know I deserve health and happiness.

-Because I love myself enough to be surrounded with positive and like-minded people.


Please remember...

"Everything in life worth having is worth working for." - Andrew Carnegie




117 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page