top of page
  • Rebecca Yadao

An Upside Down Frown



Happy Saturday!

Gosh! It has been a while since I have put together a self-love post for you beautiful people! In honor of that, I have dedicated this post to “5 ways to combat negative thinking”. For some of my favorite people out there who do need a little extra love on this fine and divine Saturday Lunch time. (Ooo... bars.)


1. Smile: It is scientifically proven that smiling can release serotonin and endorphins by creating a positive effect on your brain. Every day, I try to make it a habit to remind myself why it is so great to be alive. (Family, friends, fresh air, pizza.) Whether it's physically writing in my gratitude journal or making a mental list of all that I am grateful for. Plus, a smile is the most beautiful thing you can wear. (Scouts honor.)

2. Affirm yourself: There is something so important about affirmations and the positive effects it has on our mental and emotional state. When a negative thought begins to rear its ugly head. Whether it's about yourself or somebody else. Try looking at the plus side instead of the negative. Tell yourself or the other person how amazing, incredible and undeniably smart you/they are, because welp... it's the truth.

3. Spread love: As Mother Teresa once said, “Spread love everywhere you go. Let no one ever come to you without feeling happier.” Every time you spread love and kindness, it gives others a chance to spread love onto you. There has never been a day that I have lived when I have regretted being nice to someone. (Ope... jk I just remembered a time when I gave my left over ice cream to my brother instead of saving it for later. Yep... I definitely regretted that the next day!!!! But you get the gist...)

4. Birds of a feather flock together: It is important to befriend and follow good examples. Just as it is important to unfollow or unfriend people who make you feel less than you are or take you down a negative path. This one is so important to me, because as someone who is constantly using social media to reach out and love on others, I also find that sometimes I need to take a little break or unfollow certain people that make me feel that I am of lesser value than I really am.

5. Take a break!! Social media isn't everything! I promise. Nathaniel is great at reminding me that there is more to life than a picture and post. For that, (I am annoyed) I am eternally grateful.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page