top of page
  • Rebecca Yadao

A Journey To love



"To love oneself is the beginning of a lifelong romance." - Oscar Wild


Self-love is a never-ending journey I am willing to embark on.


Self-love and acceptance, two objectives that I have attempted to hone and perfect since the time I was 16 years old, hiding behind bangs so greasy you'd think I was getting my hair cut from the local McDonald's. All the way up until I was today years old!


Yup... You read that correctly! The woman above; with no shirt on and zero f*cks to give, the one that's completely dominating that dry lake bed, and rocking the absolute sh*t out of her white vintage Goodwill slacks. Had just, not even 5 seconds before this picture had been taken. Complained that her back rolls were getting out of hand and that she really needed to push a little harder at the gym that day. Like what in the actual TARNATION was I thinking?!

I didn't even join the gym to look better naked in the first place! It had just become a bonus...


Here I am constantly affirming others of their unmatched beauty and marvelous attributes. Yet, when it came down to the nitty-gritty. I had nothing but criticism and a "You can always do better." attitude towards myself. I'm often catering to others ideals of who I should be. That I always end up feeling suffocated and wondering why? Then, I remember, "Oh, yeah!" I allowed myself to fit into this articulately dressed box TWO SIZES TOO SMALL, that wasn't even design for me! AM I CRAZY?! Have I completely forgotten all the incredible things I have achieved when I stopped listening to the surrounding voices?


The stages I have danced on not caring who watched, the people I have met by letting my insatiable curiosity take lead, and the beautiful memories I have made while drinking one too many.


It's moments like these, that its important to remember that ones mental strength is far greater than they give themselves credit for. That in the end it doesn't matter how many times they as human beings fall back into the patterns others think they should abide by, but how many times they have the courage and mental stability to dance outside of that conga line.


EVERY. D*MN. TIME.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page