top of page
  • Rebecca Yadao

6 Ways I Detox After a Trip


Every time I hop on a plane, I already know that all of my daily routines and health habits are on their way to flying right out of that planes window. One of mine and Nathaniels favorite parts of traveling is being able to experience and try new things. Which of course, always includes yummy, but SUPER unhealthy foods! (I’ve always had an insatiable sweet tooth! Especially in new places with fun and creative desserts i’ve never had before.) So right when we get back from a trip, I always make it a habit to stop by the store and pick up all of my daily essentials to get right back into the swing of things! And of course, my skinny jeans… 😉


1. Hot lemon water- I have make it a daily habit to make a big glass of hot lemon water first thing in the morning. (On a nice empty stomach.) I personally use half of a lemon in my hot water and then cut up that same half and place it into my water bottle. This not only makes me feel like I’m getting the same detox effect throughout my day, but also that I’m not leaving anything to waste. (For best results I sometimes add Cheyenne pepper and raw honey.) Lemon water is known for aiding in digestion and boosting the metabolism.


2. Vinegar tablets- I only take these a week at a time, but i’m sure it wouldn’t have a negative effect on a person if they chose to continue. I purchase my non-capsule vinegar tablets at Tjmaxx for $7, but I’m positive you can find them at any health food store. I take these with my lemon water in the morning. It tastes a whole lot better than downing a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar. (Yuck.) Studies show that vinegar helps burn belly fat, lowers blood sugar, and kills any unnecessary and harmful bacteria.


3. Probiotics- I have used probiotics ever since I was a senior in high school and have continued to use them every day. I absolutely love them and recommend them to anyone I meet! I personally use probiotics for women’s health (Which I get from Walmart and will copy the link at the bottom of this post.), but there are all kinds of probiotic in all shapes and forms. For instance; supplements, gummies, fruits, veggies, yogurts and Kombucha. Probiotics assist in balancing the friendly bacteria in the stomach, improve mental health, and are heart healthy.


4. Water- Water is SO important for the body. Especially for detoxing! Every time I come back from a trip I carry around my 32oz water bottle and try to drink at least two of these a day! It removes all of the waste from my gut and honestly just makes me feel better and hydrated for the week to come.


5. Yoga- I use yoga for all types of things and one of those things just happen to be detoxing! All of the twist and turns in yoga help ring out the yucky toxins that get held up in the gut. I personally prefer doing yoga at home with one of my closest and most popular friends YouTube! YouTube is incredible for many things, but I especially love the way it pinpoints exactly what I need anytime I type something into the search bar. Like.. Yoga for detoxing, Detoxing yoga, and best stretches for detoxing. Most of the time I only have a few minutes in the morning and choose a video that is only about 20-30 minutes long which gives me enough time to get what I need out of it and start my day on the right foot. I say this all of the time, but it is incredible how seemingly small things can make such a huge difference.


6. Sleep- Getting back into my normal sleep schedule has never been easy after a trip, but making sure I get enough sleep has definitely been a priority. (Real talk though.) Due to my past with depression, it is difficult for me do know when I am not getting enough rest and when I am getting far too much for my mental health. So I tend to let myself rest when I am tired during the day, but make sure not to fall asleep until nightfall when my normal sleeping time rolls around. (Which is usually by 10pm.) Sleep helps rejuvenate your body after a big change. Like eating new things or being in a new place.


https://www.walmart.com/ip/Renew-Life-Ultimate-Flora-Probiotic-Women-s-Care-25-billion-30-vegetable-capsules/24761810

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page