top of page
  • Rebecca Yadao

5 Unexpected, Yet Fun & Creative Places to Take Pictures



Hey Everyone! Happy Saturday!! 

I sit at my laptop almost every day in hopes that inspiration will magically come across my screen, but the truth is and to quote one of my favorite bloggers Jaci Marie “Practicing gratitude is one of the only things that can pull someone out of a funk… When I take a moment to stop and realize how many blessings I have in my life… I stop noticing what I don’t have, but what I do.” So instead of sitting here wishing I could be telling you all of the great places I’ve been and the things I’ve done across the world, (Because trust me. That moment WILL come, but only when the time is right.) I will instead sit here and share something I actually do know and am incredibly grateful for. Which is my creativity. My hope in sharing this with you guys is that it will inspire you to take a look at what you do have. Beauty, talent, and of course your neighborhood hotspots.

1. IKEA: All of the photos on this post were taken throughout the entire IKEA store. Which can literally go on for days! (It’s a good thing they have a food court at hand.) So we had ample photo opportunities and a whole lotta fun doing any and all awkward poses in front of giant passing crowds. 

2. Cafes: I absolutely love going to cafes for photoshoots. Buying a pretty little latte and a bagel or muffin can be THE BEST way to add props into your photos! So pull up a chair to the closest window and take advantage of that natural light!

4. Backyard/Terrace: I have so many photos taken throughout my backyard which is only a 5X10 area of straight brick and cement. With one tiny palm tree that gets the courage to grow bigger every year. (Only God knows how.) It’s all in the angles! For instance, sitting on the fence and doing an upward angle or chilling next to the palm tree with the camera facing at a downward angle are great pic opportunities. Now for the terrace, the best way to achieve incredible photos on a terrace that may not have the nicest view. Is to wrap lights around the railing and wait until the sunsets. The photos end up looking so dreamy and magical! 

4. Behind businesses: Almost all of my photos that are taken behind businesses I.e gas stations, grocery stores, and even the dollar tree. Nobody would ever be able to tell unless I actually told them. (Like right now.) It’s creativity like this that make pictures stand out because nobody ever thinks to crawl behind a trashcan for perfect lighting! (I can’t imagine why?)

5. Distressed parts of town: Places that look like they have history, usually do. I love to capture all of the beauty that these places have to offer even when time has done a number on them. Some of my favorite photos were taken in probably the sketchiest parts of downtown Vegas where character seeps from every brick on abandoned restaurants and hotels.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page