top of page
  • Rebecca Yadao

5 Lessons I Have Learned In My Twenties



Good morrow everybody, (Yup, I said morrow and I don't regret it one bit.) Lol


Lesson 1. Stop Fearing Rejection- This is number one, because it is the hardest lesson I have had to learn in my 20's. Yet, it was worth it. It opened me up to a whole new world of growth and opportunities that have gotten me to where I am today. Growth that continues to elevate me to greater heights of personal achievement that I could ever wish for. I am definitely not saying that rejection doesn't happen to me, because oh boy does it! And It stings every single time too! I am just stating that, "the reward is greater than the risk." (I think that's how the quote goes?) The number one reoccurring memory I have from my childhood all the way up to my adulthood was the fear of rejection. I hated even asking people for things in fear that they would say no! I completely limited myself and my growth to only doing the things I already knew how to do. Can you imagine if I continued to only do the things I already know how to do? I definitely wouldn't be sitting here blogging about it today. That's for sure!


Lesson 2. Take Care Of My Body- This is important and something I didn't learn until recently. I have made plenty of mistakes in my 20's, but one of my biggest mistakes was thinking that if I looked healthy I was healthy. I would go to the gym for 2-3 hours a day (Yes. A DAY! Like what the heck, who does that?) and go home and down a burger, fries, and a shake.  While sitting there wondering why I was feeling sluggish, tired, and groggy all of the time without seeing or feeling the results. I had this misperception that looks were more important than my health and wellness (Boy was I wrong!) and that as long as I killed myself at the gym. My diet didn't really matter. Thankfully I learned this young and I'm here today to share with you that your body is so incredibly beautiful, please take care of it! As long as you get those juices flowing, whether it's a walk through the park or hitting the gym for ONE hour. As well as implementing the 80/20 rule (Which is being healthy 80% of the time and splurging ever so often aka the other 20% of the time.) You're golden pony boy. Doing the 80/20 rule really helped me prioritize clean eating, while still enjoying my rare movie night pig outs. Because although eating clean is very important. So is your mental health! (A person can only eat so much chicken and veggies before they goes insane. TRUST ME.)


Lesson 3. READ, read, READ, read, READ- If you ever ask a successful person what they did to become and stay successful they will hands down tell you that they consistently grew their knowledge. I LOVE reading (well, most books.) I am currently reading An Enemy Called Average by John Mason. He states that "Within every person is a desire to be fully who they were created to be."  Which I completely agree with  (Warning, this book is VERY religious.) and I feel it is important to continue to grow yourself and your knowledge. Plus, the amount of topics and books in this world are endless! Some might even debate that Science Fiction helps develop the brain and grow the imagination through creative thinking. But, who knows? 


Lesson 4. Keep A Journal With Me At All Times- I continuously have a journal on me at all times. I have a terrible habit of over thinking and creating unnecessary stress within myself. I tend to always have a million things on my mind and for the longest time I would either forget something and become frustrated with myself or I would marinate in my thoughts and let them consume me through worry! So, I started to write everything down. Whether they are my hopes, my dreams, or even my grocery list. Being able to look at something tangible with all of my thoughts on it and in front of me. It gave me more room to prioritize the more important matters over the least important ones. 


Lesson 5. Only Focus On My Strengths Instead Of My Weaknesses-  I remember my Mother always saying, "You can't be good at everything, It just wouldn't be fair." Ooo.. did that use to get to me or what?! I would precede to tell her that I was good at EVERYTHING and for the longest time I made it my life's mission. Lol I use to prioritized my weaknesses in hopes that the more I worked on them the least amount of weaknesses I would have. HA! I completely disregarded the fact that my weaknesses are what make me human and my strengths are what set me apart. For instance, I will never be good at math, I can't kick a ball to save my life, and forget about cooking! (I've eaten so much burnt toast in my day, that now I'm convinced it's the only way to eat it!) Lmao It's my weaknesses that ground me and remind me that I am far from perfect, but it's those few strengths that have ultimately gotten me to where I am today and I will forever be grateful for this lesson in my life.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page